The project

Revive the windmill

Our association has the ambition to identically rebuild the Windmill, which had become an infamous strategic target during the Great War, and to make of it a true international meeting place.

All that is left of the old Windmill is a grass covered mound which you can only guess the presence of its rubble just under the surface. A protected Australian memorial, the Windmill Site is situated on the Northern end of Pozieres, along the D929 Road which links Bapaume and Amiens.


The Battle for Pozieres Ridge

For two weeks, between the end of July and the beginning of August 1916, Australian soldiers fought ferociously to capture the Windmill site from German grip. This area, essential to the British army, had to be captured to enable a counter plan to capture the village of Thiepval. The German army had orders to keep their positions at all cost, because these positions

protected them from being observed by the enemy, especially on their back trenches around Thiepval. At the cost of heavy losses, Australian forces took over the positions during the night of the 5th and 6th of August 1916 and, despite enemy efforts to recapture the lost terrain, they held their positions with great determination, the carcass of the Windmill.

Pourquoi ?
Why reconstuct the windmill?

Offering a location where nations can meet to exchange and share, the new Windmill will have an interactive area dedicated to history and the memory of these men of all nationalities who took part in this bloody battle during the summer of 1916.


Together with the villages which surround Pozieres and some are kilometres away, the presence of the rebuilt windmill, would immediately situate the presence of the badly devastated village, and forever materialize the terrible fights during the “Windmill Battle”.


Other than giving Pozieres the familiar form of the winged giant, the reconstructed Windmill will also offer the possibility to rediscover the forgotten milling activity which lasted three centuries in this village.

Où ?
Where will the windmill be built?

The new windmill will obviously not be built on the original site. It will be built just behind the current Australian memorial, on the corner of road D929 and the road to Courcelette, in the heart of a wooded park.

Comment ?
How will the windmill be built?

Using the original drawings of the windmill, the building will be reconstructed identically using traditional materials, and using building technics from that period, all whilst respecting construction and safety norms used today.

Our actions

Yesterday's enemies, today's friends

To have the reconstruction project publicized and promoted, our association organizes various cultural actions and events around a strong message of reconciliation and peace.

This message had a familiar echo during the Windmill Battle, the 5th of August 1916. During an attack under heavy fire, the Australian Captain Percy Herbert Cherry and a German officer threw themselves to the ground to avoid sniper bullets. As they got back up, they found themselves face to face, and fire at each other both at the same time. The German bullet ricocheted off Cherry’s helmet, the Australian bullet fatally wounding the German officer who collapses. Cherry approaches his agonizing opponent. The officer takes a packet of letters out of his pocket and asks his enemy, in a perfect English, to post them for him. The Australian promises him that he would as the German officer helplessly passes away before him.

Agenda
Lastest actions

Visiting the windmills of Dosches and Valmy

Saturday 9 of March 2013

along with the architect Erwin Schriver


Civic Service Engagement

Our association has taken measures to take on a volunteer to help assemble the feasibility proposal of our project

Help-us

Support the project

Do you want to help? Join our association for the Reconstruction of the Pozieres Windmill. There is no time to waste, participate in our actions and bring your support to raise the winged giant.

To be able to carry out this ambitious project, our association needs your help whether you are an individual or a company representative. Together, rebuild the windmill thanks to:

Du temps

Time that you have spent into allowing the project to advance.

Des dons

Your financial contribution thanks to donations.

Un savoir-faire

Your know-how which will help to contribute to the project’s development.

Pozieres Windmill Reconstruction Association   / Copyright

Le projet

Faire revivre le moulin

Notre association porte l'ambition de reconstruire à l'identique l'ancien moulin, devenu bien malgré lui un point stratégique pendant la Grande Guerre, et d'en faire un véritable lieu de rencontre internationale.

Du moulin de Pozières, il ne reste aujourd'hui que de petits monts herbeux qui laissent deviner la présence de ses décombres sous la surface. Lieu de mémoire australien protégé, le site du moulin se trouve au nord du village de Pozières, le long de la route départementale D929 qui relie Bapaume à Amiens.


La bataille de la crête de Pozières

Durant deux semaines, entre la fin juillet et le début d'août 1916, les soldats australiens se battent avec ténacité pour capturer le site du moulin aux mains des Allemands. Ce terrain, essentiel à l'armée britannique, doit permettre la réalisation d'un plan de contournement et de capture du village de Thiepval. L'armée allemande a reçu l'ordre de tenir cette position

coûte que coûte, puisque celle-ci les protège de toutes obervations adverses, notamment sur les tranchées arrières du secteur de Thiepval. Au prix de très lourdes pertes, les Australiens s'emparent de la position dans la nuit du 5 au 6 août 1916 et, malgré les tentatives ennemies pour reprendre le terrain perdu, ils tiennent avec détermination les décombres du moulin.

Pourquoi ?
Pourquoi rebâtir le moulin ?

Offrant un lieu d'échanges et de partage entre les nations, le nouveau moulin accueillera un espace interactif dédié à l'histoire et à la mémoire des hommes de toutes nationalités qui ont pris part à cette sanglante bataille à l'été 1916.


Depuis l'ensemble des communes qui entourent Pozières, et à des kilomètres à la ronde, la présence du moulin reconstruit, situera immédiatement la présence du village si durement éprouvé et matérialisera à jamais les terribles combats de la « bataille du Moulin ».


Au-delà de redonner au paysage de Pozières la silhouette familière de ce géant aîlé, le moulin reconstruit fera également redécouvrir le patrimoine oublié de l'activité meunière qui a perduré durant plus de trois siècles dans le village.

Où ?
Où sera t-il érigé ?

Le nouveau moulin ne sera bien évidemment pas érigé sur son terrain originel. Il s'élèvera en retrait du site de mémoire australien, à l'angle de la route départemantale D929 et de la route de Courcelette, au cœur d'un parc du souvenir arboré.

Comment ?
Comment sera t-il reconstruit ?

À partir des plans d'origine du moulin, le bâtiment sera reconstruit à l'identique en utilisant des matériaux traditionnels et en employant les techniques d'époque, tout en respectant les normes de construction et de sécurité d'aujourd'hui.

Nos actions

Ennemis d'hier, amis d'aujourd'hui

Pour faire connaître et promouvoir le projet de reconstruction, notre association organise des actions et manifestations culturelles en rassemblant autour d'un message fort de réconciliation et de Paix.

Ce message trouve un écho particulier dans un épisode de la bataille du Moulin, le 5 août 1916. Pris sous le feu de l'ennemi lors d'une attaque, le Capitaine australien Percy Herbert Cherry et un officier allemand se jettent rapidement à terre pour éviter les balles de tireurs embusqués. En se relevant, les deux hommes se font face et ouvrent le feu en même temps. Alors que la balle de l'Allemand ricoche sur le casque de Cherry, celle de l'Australien blesse mortellement l'officier allemand qui s'écroule. Le Capitaine s'approche de son adversaire, agonisant. L'officier sort alors un paquet de lettres de sa poche et demande à son ennemi, dans un parfait anglais, de les poster. L'Australien lui en fait la promesse en assistant impuissant à la mort de son adversaire.

Agenda
Dernières actions

Visite des moulins de Dosches et de Valmy

Samedi 9 mars 2013

En compagnie de l'architecte Erwin Schriver


Engagement d'un service civique

Notre association a entrepris les démarches pour accueillir un volontaire pour nous aider au montage du dossier de faisabilité de notre projet

Aidez-nous

Soutenez le projet

Envie d'agir, rejoignez-nous au sein de l'Association Pour la Reconstruction du Moulin de Pozières. Pas le temps, participer à nos actions et apportez votre soutien pour relever le géant aîlé.

Pour mener à bien cet ambitieux projet, notre association a besoin de votre aide, que vous soyez particulier ou représentant d'une entreprise. Ensemble, reconstruisons le moulin grâce à :

Du temps

Votre temps pour faire avancer le projet plus rapidement.

Des dons

Votre participation financière sous forme de dons.

Un savoir-faire

Votre savoir-faire pour amener votre pierre à l'édifice.

Association Pour la Reconstruction du Moulin de Pozières   / Mentions légales