Presentation

Rised the winged giant

Our association wishes to revive the Pozieres Windmill memory by rebuilding it next to its still existing foundations, which are protected and has become a Commonwealth Memorial site.

Lifted by the 90th Battle of the Somme anniversary commemorations and the light and sound show in Pozieres, Jean-Pierre Delattre had the idea to bring back the project to rebuild the Windmill into the spotlight. Very passionate by the village’s history where he grew up, along with some childhood friends, “the Windmill Reconstruction Association” was formed in Pozieres in 2007.

Our association wishes to unite French, Australians and Germans around this ambitious Remembrance project.

It’s supported by the French National Office of Veteran Affairs (ONACVG) as well as the National Federation of French Veterans in Germany and Austria (FNAFFAA).

Suffering from a long-term illness, Jean-Pierre Delattre decided to transfer the association into the hands of his brother, Bernard, to continue his action. Bernard Delattre kept his promise and became President of the association. Surrounded by a hard working team whose efforts are to make the reconstruction of the Windmill a symbolic place where former enemies can meet.

Team

Retracing Pozieres' history

Whilst working hard for the Windmill’s revival, our association members would like to rediscover an important part of the village’s identity and enrich the cultural heritage of our region.

President
Bernard Delattre
Bernard Delattre

Under his school teacher’s and family’s influences, since childhood, Bernard Delattre has been dynamically participating and giving tremendous amounts of his time into the First World War Commemorations in Pozieres. After having spent five years as a “Green Beret” in the National Navy as Navy Commando, he then

successful undertook a career in the police force, ending with the rank of Commander. Whilst never forgetting the duty of remembrance. For this purpose, Bernard supports his brother, in creating the Windmill Reconstruction Association. He will pursue his brother’s goal to whom he promised to never abandon the project.


Secretary
Joël Pelletier
Joël Pelletier

Living and working as a farmer in Pozieres, Joël Pelletier is a history buff, a passion which was passed down by his father at a very young age. The First World War occupies a very important place in his village where monuments and battlefields have become a place of pilgrimage

for many British families. Joël Pelletier is very attached to this history and heritage, as well as the more distant past of Pozieres. He has become very involved in giving back to the village its Windmill, the only building that wasn’t rebuilt after the war.


Treasurer
Régis Pariset
Régis Pariset

After having grown up in Pozieres where his family held a bakery, Régis Pariset has a career as financial inspector. His background naturally led him to becoming treasurer for the association. Other than the interest he has for his

parents work, his engagement is also linked to a passion for history. Although the flour used by his father, was no longer produced in Pozieres, he wishes to remind the village the role of the windmill played in its everyday life.

Pozieres Windmill Reconstruction Association   / Copyright

Présentation

Relever le géant aîlé

Notre association souhaite faire revivre la mémoire du moulin de Pozières par sa reconstruction à proximité de ses anciennes fondations, aujourd'hui protégées et devenues « site de mémoire du Commonwealth ».

Porté par les commémorations du 90e anniversaire de la bataille de la Somme et de la création d'un spectacle son et lumière à Pozières, Jean-Pierre Delattre a l'idée de remettre sur le devant de la scène le projet de reconstruire l'ancien moulin. Passionné par l'histoire du village où il est né et a grandi, il fonde avec quelques amis d'enfance l'« Association Pour la Reconstruction du Moulin » à Pozières en 2007.

Notre association souhaite réunir Français, Australiens et Allemands autour de cet ambitieux projet de mémoire. Elle est soutenue par

l'Office National des Anciens Combattants et Victimes de Guerre (ONACVG), ainsi que par la Fédération Nationale des Anciens des Forces Françaises en Allemagne et en Autriche (FNAFFAA).

Atteint d'une longue maladie, Jean-Pierre Delattre lègue à son frère, Bernard, la poursuite de son action. Promesse tenue, Bernard Delattre prend la présidence de l'association. Autour de lui, l'équipe œuvre pour faire de la reconstruction du moulin un lieu symbolique de rencontres entre les ennemis d'hier.

L'équipe

Retrouver l'histoire du village

En oeuvrant pour la renaissance du moulin, les membres de notre association désirent faire redécouvrir une partie importante de l'identité de notre village et enrichir ainsi le patrimoine culturel de la région.

Président
Bernard Delattre
Bernard Delattre

Sous l'influence de son maître d'école et de sa famille, Bernard Delattre participe et s'investit dès son enfance dans les préparatifs aux commémorations de la Grande Guerre à Pozières. Après cinq années comme « Béret vert » des Commandos marines de la Marine Nationale, il mène une carrière dans la Police Judiciaire

qu'il termine au grade de Commandant. Il n'oublie pas pour autant le devoir de mémoire. Dans ce but, Bernard soutient son frère, Jean-Pierre, dans la création de l'Association Pour la Reconstruction du Moulin. Il a désormais la volonté de poursuivre l'objectif de son frère à qui, il a promis de ne pas laisser tomber le projet.


Secrétaire
Joël Pelletier
Joël Pelletier

Vivant et exerçant son métier d'agriculteur à Pozières, Joël Pelletier est un féru d'histoire, une passion qui lui a été transmise par son père dès son plus jeune âge. La Première Guerre mondiale occupe une place toute particulière dans son village où les monuments et les anciens champs

de bataille sont des lieux de pélerinage pour de nombreuses familles. Joël Pelletier est ainsi attaché à ce patrimoine, comme à celui du passé plus lointain de Pozières. Il s'implique pour redonner à sa commune son moulin, seul bâtiment jamais reconstruit après la guerre.


Trésorier
Régis Pariset
Régis Pariset

Après avoir grandi à Pozières, où ses parents tenaient la boulangerie, Régis Pariset exerce la profession d'inspecteur des finances. Ces qualités lui assurent naturellement le poste de trésorier. Au-delà de l'intérêt pour le métier

de ses parents, son engagement rejoint aussi sa passion pour l'histoire. Si la farine, employée par son père, n'était plus produite à Pozières, il espère pouvoir rappeler au village le rôle que jouait le moulin dans la vie quotidienne.

Association Pour la Reconstruction du Moulin de Pozières   / Mentions légales